PDA

View Full Version : Saab Engine Help

Plug
31-01-09, 08:26 PM
Right i've been offered a 94 Saab 9000, 2.0T. only asking as this has been offered running and complete car cheaper than i can get an xe.

Just wandering cause im not a very mechanicaly minded person if this will fit?

Or does anyone know what work will be involved at all?
Im guessing the engine mounts will have to be cut off and re-welded or some heavy duty brackets made up.

would i have to mate the engine to a vaux gearbox or use the saab one?
Its rear wheel drive thou

any info or a point in the right direction will be appricated.

Regards Jimbo

Plug
31-01-09, 08:44 PM
i know no one has done this properly yet but just asking if it will be worth while

Stuart
31-01-09, 08:46 PM
offer to nosh sloth off, he at the very least pretends to know what hes on about... it might even be true for all anyone cares

Plug
31-01-09, 08:49 PM
right i'll wait and see when he comes on and ask some questions.

Might get the car and have a look what work will be involved if its to much break the saab to fund the nova

philip
01-02-09, 07:54 AM
check out deeks thread on migweb or vauxsport of his mk3 astra van, thats got the 2.3, sure its a very tight fit and the engine sits higher than an XE, but you'll have to read it!

may struggle with fitting it in a nova or corsa bay tbh!

Mike
01-02-09, 09:12 AM
The saab engines, well some, so v-v-v-v similiar to GM motors, so I'd guess it'll fit.

TBH i dont know why people buy LET's when you can get a SAAB turbo motor for about £200 lol lol

philip
01-02-09, 10:40 AM
there taller so it would be harder to fit.

but as you've mentioned price i got offered a 2.0t for £80 complete car with no rocker cover and no turbo, get near 400bhp on stock internals:cool: but lost bank card and mates mate wanted car going saturday, so gona wait for a 2.3:D

i think the 94-98 motors are ones to go for, especially the 2.3t's as they bolt to the vaux boxes.