PDA

View Full Version : SPi to carb

blaiz
17-12-02, 08:42 PM
iv got 1.4spi.
iv asked in previous topic wot best 2 get more power+sum1 suggested changin 2 either mpi or 2 carb

if i changed 2 carb they sed:
"remove the entire inlet manifold and throttle body and replace it with the same part from a 1.4 carbed engine (ie manifold and carb) and shouldnt have to do much else bar add a pressure regulator and possibly replace the dizzy with the carb version"

wud it realy b as simple and easy as this, or are there other factors 2 consider??
also, wud i b able 2 get an induction kit suitable 4 this??

please help me all u experts!!!

much apreciated
chris

Manta Mad
17-12-02, 11:15 PM
I am no expert on this but from reading previous posts, I am sure someone said that an SPi head has a different internal casting to the 1.4 carb head and doesn't produce as much power - but will leave it to the experts to confirm or otherwise.

mikeoxford
17-12-02, 11:52 PM
im not quite sure about the difference in internals

but as you said, yes it is as easy as that to unbolt everything, but a new system on (e.g carb or MPi) and away you go

obviously a bit of tweaking maybe???

mikeoxford
17-12-02, 11:53 PM
also if you fit carbs, u will obviously need a pressure regulator for definite as injection works on pumped pressurised fuel, carb draws it through a pump and nothing else

MC
18-12-02, 07:56 AM
If you go to MPi, you'll need to change the head.

blaiz
18-12-02, 02:22 PM
ok, i that case wud it b better js 2 get a 1.4 head aswel?? iv herd that these have the best flow characteristics out ov all the 1.4 heads

also, induction kit?? or wud that js b 4 injected models??

how wud i go about fittin a pressure regulator? has ne1 done ne thin like this b4+got any tips??

wot wud b the best carb(s) 2 opt 4??

cheerz 4 da help so far

mikeoxford
18-12-02, 03:14 PM
1.2 is best head for performance - they have slightly higher compression and usually big ports too i think.