PDA

View Full Version : learn the guitar

Tidy Max
14-10-08, 07:50 AM
Hello there!

Right, i'm after learning the guitar, i know a few of you play on here "hendrix" and i was just wondering how you went about learning, did you teach yourself or get lessens?

If you taught yourself what books/sites did you find useful!

Cheers

hendrix
14-10-08, 08:33 AM
Self taught mate...start off with really really simple stuff, then learn the basic chords (E, G, A, C, D). From there on its not too bad. don't get disheartened when you can't play something either...just keep at it!
Guitar tab helps once you know the basics (its a simple way to show how a piece is played and means you don't have to learn music!)
However...
I wish I had taken a few lessons to get me out of the bad habits that I currently have whilst playing. Some of them really impede the playing of more complex songs.

Tidy Max
14-10-08, 08:48 AM
yeah, i have had a look at some guitar tabs before, learnt the beginning of monsters by the automatic off one once, learning the chords sounds like a good plan lol got abit of direction now so i might crack on! cheers mate

Pistol Pete
14-10-08, 10:22 AM
G/f's brother wanted to learn guitar, so went out and bought one, a few books and he's picking it up quite well. I tried learning when i was younger, but gave up. I'll stick to guitar hero lol

hendrix
14-10-08, 12:25 PM
I reckon guitar hero is harder than the real thing :wtf: :tard:

Ben
14-10-08, 12:29 PM
My old man self taught himself, he's always watching the tutorials on you tube.

ash anderson
14-10-08, 12:33 PM