PDA

View Full Version : ice install help needed

Thundersmurf
30-09-08, 02:11 PM
I've never done an ice install before and don't know a thing about proper systems so can anyone help me?
currently my car has a fli 12 sub and an amp - not sure of size as they were in the car when i bought it.
it has a "tevion" head unit which I've been pleasantly surprised with and I've fitted some old wharfdale 6x9's.
I like the tevion because it has an sd slot and a usb slot too so I don't have to have loads of cd's in the car so I'd like to replace it with something similar.

I'm looking at getting a stealth shelf, but that is about as far as my inspration has taken me lol

Should I be looking at two amps? one for the sub and one for the speakers? if so what power should they be? my sub is 1000w I think...

should I go for component speakers?

what other stuff will i need?

sorry to be such a noob, any help would be appreciated :)

NovaLad
30-09-08, 05:46 PM
How many outputs does the head unit have?

Is the FLI sub 1 with an attached amp allready or 1 that needs a seperate amp?

If you want quality from your speakers don't fit them in the shelf.

The biggest components youcan fit in the front cards without pods is 5.25inch IIRC.

If you need a seperate amp for the sub then allways get an amp with same or more power.. never underpower a sub.

Allways if you can afford it, amp up speakers/components etc... as you wil get the best from them that way.

You are going to need a wiring kit... battery cable(red), remote(thin blue), earth(black, white, clear) and a set of RCA's.

If you need any help wiring this lot up then me and my mate will prob be able to do it for you in very little time as i have done it that much lol.

Any other questions/replies just posts um.

Jack
30-09-08, 05:50 PM
Part number for sub? You'll need to know the resistance as well as power ratings.

mikey14sr
30-09-08, 06:14 PM