PDA

View Full Version : Not long now

Philsutton
22-08-08, 10:27 AM
Well in a few weeks they will be running the Large Hadron Collider at CERN for the first time properly, its been a long time coming. Hopefully it all goes to plan and some interesting result occur.

Surprised the Media isnt all over it as they love the opportunities to tell we are all going to die and the apocalpse is here.

http://press.web.cern.ch/press/PressReleases/Releases2008/PR06.08E.html

Stoo
22-08-08, 10:42 AM
So, forgive me for being ignorant here Phil, but what exactly is that all about then

in laymans please! Im just an engineer!!!

hendrix
22-08-08, 10:42 AM
Been waiting with baited breath for this for ages Phil. LHC is almost at temperature now :). Its amazing how long it takes to get it down to those levels but I suppose you don't want to really break it now haha. 3 Kelvin is bloomin cold. Almost as cold as 2.7K in space due to the CMBR.
5TeV beams too, its crazy!
Couple of my lecturers from Uni worked at CERN for half the year every year. Lucky mofos.
Lmao at the idiots who think it will eliminate all life on earth by creating a black hole

Stoo
22-08-08, 10:46 AM
:confused: :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused:

Your making my brain hurt!

Sturge
22-08-08, 10:47 AM
no warm beers there then lol

Sturge
22-08-08, 10:48 AM
So, forgive me for being ignorant here Phil, but what exactly is that all about then

in laymans please! Im just an engineer!!!

from what I can gather they're basically recreating deep space conditions to carry out tests on partical collision at high energy levels (the big bang theory)

hendrix
22-08-08, 10:54 AM
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/earth/graphics/2008/08/21/scilhc121.jpg

First proton beam at interaction point 3.