User
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Toms Nova Rally Car Build

Greetings.

This is my first proper post so ill give you guys a bit of background on me before i talk about the project. I learned to drive as a teenager in my girlfriends nova SR (around about 1998). After this i had about 4 or 5 novas and would not even consider driving anything else until my mid 20s when i started driving honda preludes. From the age of about 18-23 i worked as a welder fabricator and always dreamed about building and driving a rally prepped nova. I bought a wide arched shell with a rollcage but never even got round to picking up because i didnt have a garage and the place i was going to store it fell through. Then i managed to get my workplace to let me keep a stripped out nova at work but the reality was that i didnt have any money and when i left that place the nova ended up going to the scrapyard. So, fast forward 10 years and i now have a fairly decent job working in London doing IT networking. I drive a 1.2 clio as a runabout and most importantly ive just bought a new house with a decent sized garage... awesome!

Managed to talk the wife into letting me have a little project although she still maintains that i will never finish it. Before i even start working on the nova i decided that i had to prepare a decent working space. I decided to deck out the roof space in my garage and use it for storage. I also decided to remove the railings that line my drive as in the future i anticipate having to keep another nova on the drive to use as a donor car and to add to that i would also like at some point to get a road going nova as a daily drive!