PDA

View Full Version : what can fit in a nova, then?

stvr
04-01-02, 12:56 AM
'ey mateys, i'm new to cars. just got my first - which happens to be a nova :)

so yeah, where can i put speakers? i only have 2 small ones at the back by the parcel shelf atm,

my knowledge goes this far: put them in the front doors, and on the parcel shelf, and a sub w/ amp in the boot. can someone give me the sizes which these areas take, as i dont wanna buy too big for the car! thanks in advance

also, which brands would you recommend for relatively good performance to price, as i have scrapped my idea of a full rockford setup because the nova seems such a "secure" car and i dont want them stolen

in summary:
where can i put speakers in a nova, and of which sizes?
can you recommend me a good performance for cost brand to buy?

thanks in advance!

Steve (n00bie at ice)

adam5
04-01-02, 12:32 PM
Doors
=====
6.5 inch are popular. just put a 3/4 mdf spacer between the door card and speaker so it doesnt catch the bits in the door. if you angle the mdf to make the speaker point at you it will give better sound.
max size depends on how much of a door pod you want to build. Im putting 7x10"s in my door as soon as I've sanded the pod down.

Parcel Shelf
============
what ever you want mate. as big as the thing will allow. I just about squeezed some 8" round speakers into my standard parcel shelf but with an mdf shelf or stealth shelf you can go all the way. 6x9 is popular but I'd go for 7x10.

boot
====
2 10" will fit in easy
you'll probably get 2 12" in too.
depends on how much free space you want in a boot.

you'll need an amp for your sub. for now you can run your speakers of the stereo but I would recommend getting an amp for them too.

good brands
============
down to personal opinion I suppose.
kenwood are a safe bet for speakers.
I've took a fancy to sony subs too.
Aint too keen on the pionner stuff though but they look so pretty.
id get kenwood speakers if I was you mate.
hth

stvr