PDA

View Full Version : converting fog and headlight to toggle switch

jimbob-mcgrew
10-10-08, 11:29 PM
im not very good with electrics, can anybody help me out, i want to convert the fog and headlight switches to standard toggle switchs, can anybody give me a wiring diagram for these and an explanation on how to wire them to the toggle switches would help out big time too, cheers.

General Baxter
11-10-08, 11:27 AM
iv only done the fog light, thats easy enough

are you mk1 or mk2 ?

Jack
11-10-08, 01:08 PM
GRGN - feed from headlamps
SWBL - feed to foglamp
BR - earth

Can't remember if its grey/green on the Mk1 or a yellow wire thats the feed from the headlamps, but either way thats the wires you need for the foglamp. Rocker switch connecting grey/green to black/blue should do it.#

As for the headlamps...

RT - live feed
SW - buzzer/fuse (switch illumination)
BR - earth
GRGN - sidelights/dim-dip control unit
WSGE - main/full beam stalk

I would guess you need to put a rocker switch across the red wire and grey/green for sidelights, then another switch across the red and white/yellow wires for main headlight feed.

jimbob-mcgrew
11-10-08, 04:21 PM
cheers jack, ill investigate the layout in a bit, see if my electrical non-literate brain can pull it off without sparks and fuse pops.

jimbob-mcgrew
11-10-08, 07:49 PM
ok cool, i sorted out the fog wiring, i did a bit of volt testing and found:

- green/grey = power from sidelight
- white/yellow = power from dipped beam
- black/blue = power to foglight
- brown = earth

i ditched the (green/grey) sidelight wiring and will use the dipped beam power for the switch. ill need one of those 3 terminal switches to wire it in.

cheers for help, the fog is nothing in comparison to the headlight switch tho.. im gonna need alot more help with that one.